Skip to main content

About AAAC

Who We Are

The primary function of the Albany Area Arts Council has always been to work collaboratively with other local arts and cultural organizations, most primarily our Member Organizations which include Albany Civil Rights Institute, Albany Museum of Art, Albany Symphony Orchestra, Georgia Artists Guild of Albany, The Albany Chorale, Theatre Albany, Thronateeska Heritage Center, Albany State University, and Dougherty County School System.

The AAAC is essential to arts development and education within the community, consistently collaborating with other arts and culture agencies. The AAAC provides regular meeting space for assorted groups including the Georgia Artists Guild of Albany; arts, crafts and educational workshops; and college art classes.

One of the ways the AAAC supports local culture is through historic preservation. Since 1991, the AAAC has served as steward to the beautiful, historic Carnegie Library for the City of Albany. The AAAC sponsors the arts by utilizing this beautiful facility as an art gallery for local and regional artists. We encourage community engagement by offering opening receptions for each exhibition; the openings and exhibitions are always free and open to the public. The exhibitions attract a diverse audience from all parts of Albany and many surrounding communities. Because of the Carnegie’s central location, these events also help promote the revitalization of downtown Albany through the development of an arts district.

The AAAC has served Albany in these and many other capacities since our founding in 1976. We exist to enhance individual life, promote diversity and a sense of community, and drive economic growth through the arts.

Our Mission

In partnership with our communities, the AAAC empowers artists, creates diverse connections, provides educational opportunities, and champions innovation and equality in the arts and humanities.

Our Vision

Uniting our communities through the exploration of arts, humanities, and creative expression.

Board Members

  • Timothy Brock – President
  • Kris Letlow – Vice President
  • Cheryl Burford – Board Treasurer
  • Belinda Vickerson – Board Secretary
  • Will Davis – Past President
  • Jim Ligon – Board Member
  • Jenny Collins – Board Member
  • Bill Swan – Board Member
  • Rachel Mansfield – Board Member
  • Sandy Peacock – Board Member

Would you like to support the Albany Arts Council?

Interested in renting our facilities?